Hello world!

January 19, 2010 trixiecat

Meow! My name is Trixie and I’m the new library cat around here at the Independence Public Library. It’s very special for a cat to be a library cat. There are millions of cats in the United States, but only a few hundred live in libraries. You might have heard of Dewey, the famous library cat in Iowa. Did you know there’s going to be a movie about Dewey? And he’s going to be played by Meryl Streep! Wait…what’s that, Mr. Blinn? Oh, Mr. Blinn is telling me Meryl Streep is going to be the librarian. I’m sure she’d rather be the cat.

Well, let me tell you about myself. When I came to the library on October 28, I was tiny and skinny and starving. All the nice people that work here took good care of me, and I’m getting bigger every day. I’m four months old now and weigh four pounds. I like to run and jump and play and purr, except when I get tired I go sleep in my comfy bed by Miss Becky’s desk. During the week I spend the nights here at the library, but on the weekends I get to go home with Miss Julie, or Miss Haley, or Mr. Blinn. Mr. Blinn’s cats Abby and Katie are mean and hiss at me a lot…Wait, Mr. Blinn is telling me to change the subject, so I’ll finish by saying that I can’t wait to see all of you at the library so you can pet me and play with me!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kathy Novelli&hellip  | 

    I just love that the library has Trixie. What a wonderful way to teach children how valuable animals are in our lives and, in my humble opinion, CATS are fabulous! Welcome Trixie. You are adding so much to our already fantastic Independence Library experience~!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Archives

  •  
